Running Brave win Olympic Day Team Run

first_imgWITH a combined time of 4 hours 3 minutes, the Running Brave team of Claudrice McKoy, Maria Urquhart, Cleveland Thomas, Devaun Barrington, Matthew McKenzie, and Winston Missigher, took the win at last Sunday’s Olympic Day 10K Team Run which began and ended at the YMCA on Thomas Lands.Second place went to the Guyana Defence Force, who were led by five-time CARICOM 10k champion, Cleveland Forde, who was actually the first person to cross the finish line, in a time of 34 minutes 44 seconds.It was Urquhart who finished just seconds ahead of GDF’s Leyanna Charles that handed the win to Running Brave. Urquhart and Charles were each the last athlete of their respective teams to cross the finish line, with Urquhart clocking 51 minutes 10 seconds, and Charles coming in six seconds behind.Running Brave’s fastest athlete went to Missigher, who was also the second athlete overall to complete the journey, clocking 35 minutes and one second for his efforts. With a time of 35 minutes 40 seconds, Thomas was the next man across the line.A youth athlete, McKoy put her senior counterparts to shame, when she was the first of the female competitors to cross the finish line, in a time of 43 minutes 48 seconds.The other athletes on the GDF team were Tyshon Bentick, Jamoul Chisholm, Marlon Nicholson, and Ashanti Scott. Scott’s 46 minutes 57 seconds was the second-fastest time among the females.The Police ‘A’ team finished in third place, with Jonathan Fagundes (0:36.42.00s) being the first teammate across the line, and Tabitha Bowman (0:52:47s) being the last.The team also comprised Salim Yussuff (0:46:00s), Colin Mercurius (0:38:14s), Quincy Morian (0:40.05s) and Joanna Archer (0:52:35s).West Demerara finished in fourth place. This team comprised Deshawna Harding, Marissa Patterson, Jamel Daly, Masama Patterson, Christian Delph and Troy StephensThe Olympic Day 10K Team Run, which is actually a part of the bigger Olympic Day Fun Walk-Jog-Run, is an annual event held in celebration of World Olympic Day, which is held every year on June 23 since 1948.The team run involved groups of six athletes – two females and four males – competing. Groups in the team run were awarded prizes.last_img read more