All your grand final action

first_imgElite Eight men’s open:Queensland Country Outlaws 7 def NSW Country Mavericks 4.A new era is born and it’s an Outlaws one.The Queensland Country side defeated their NSW counterparts 7-4 to win their first Elite Eight title.A full report will follow later this evening. By BEN HARRIS Elite Eight women’s open:NSW Scorpions 7 def NSW Mets 6.In arguably the best game of the tournament, the Scorpions ended the Mets’ Elite Eight premiership run 7-6.Three touchdowns were scored in the last minute of the match with Yasmin Meakes scoring the decisive touchdown with 15 seconds left on the clock.A full report can be found in the news section.Mixed open:Sydney Rebels 5 def Brisbane City Cobras 4.Rebels made it four mixed open titles in a row and their 38th consecutive National Touch League victory.In a thrilling conclusion, the Rebels defeated the Cobras 5-4.A full report can be found in the news section.Men’s 50s:Sydney Mets 6 def South Queensland Sharks 5.Mets claimed the men’s 50s in a thrilling final against the Sharks.Mets led 4-3 at half-time and held onto that one-touchdown advantage at full-time.The joy on the Mets’ players faces said it all when the full-time whistle was blown.Hemi McGarvey picked up a hat-trick in the match.It was the Mets’ first title in the division since 2011 while it is the Sharks’ best result in 10 years.Touchdowns: Mets 6 (Hemi McGarvey 3, Robert Wetherill, Mick Pearsall, Joseph Lancuba); Sharks 5 (Peter Sheppard 2, Brett Allen, Timothy Skewes, Mark Jansson).Men’s T-League:South Queensland Sharks 10 def South West Queensland Swans 7.In a back and forth encounter, the Sharks defeated the Swans in the south Queensland derby 10-7.Teams traded touchdown for touchdown and it wasn’t until late in the mate the Sharks ran away for the win.It was 5-all at half-time and it continued to be a tight tussle with the scores locked at 7-all.However, three late touchdowns to the boys in maroon put the result beyond doubt.Touchdowns: Sharks 10 (Jeston Paul 2, James Stevenson 2, Corey Russell, Kurtis Ferris, Matthew Egan, Coen Fielding, Lewis McAlister, Brandon Crutchley); Swans 7 (Zac Alexander 3, Brendan Taylor, Tim Moultz, Joshua Leisemann, Jack Pope). Men’s 40s:Sydney Scorpions 7 def South Queensland Sharks 4.Scorpions have won their seventh men’s 40s crown in 10 years when they defeated the Sharks 7-4.The Sydney side put on four touchdowns in the opening half to give themselves a commanding 4-1 lead.They did not let go of it as both sides score three touchdowns apiece in the second stanza.Mark Leonard and Brad Curl scoring doubles in the decider.Touchdown: Scorpions 7 (Brad Curl 2, Mark Leonard 2, Anthony Dudeck, John Mouialli, Shane Lee Frederiksen); Sharks 4 (Craig Scharer, Bruce McDonald, Shane Foley, Cameron Yabsley).Women’s T-League:South West Queensland Swans 5 def Hunter Western Hornets 3.A three-touchdown-to-nil second half helped the Swans to win the women’s T-League.The Swans were behind the Hornets 3-2 at half-time but two touchdowns to Chloe Watt and another to Elly Ashurst, her second for the match, gave the South West Queensland team a 5-3 win,Both teams put on a great display of touch with great attack and desperate defence.It was the Swans first title in this division.Touchdowns: Swans 5 (Chloe Watt 2, Elly Ashurst 2, Shenae Ciesiolka); Hornets 3 (Madison Crowe, Sian Flipo, Shannon Rose).Women’s 40s:Hunter Western Hornets 6 def Sydney Scorpions 1.Hornets got their revenge on Scorpions in the women’s 40s final.In 2013, Scorpions defeated the Hunter Western side 3-2.But the Hornets turned the screws and won the 2014 decider 6-1.It is the Hornets first title in the division and it is the only the fourth time in the last decade, the Scorpions haven’t won the division.Hornets got out of the blocks beautifully to lead 4-0 at half-time.They continue to keep their noses in front to win by five touchdowns.Touchdowns: Hornets 6 (Samantha Davis 2, Michelle Atkins, Tracey MacPherson, Anne-Maree Shipman, Samantha McCarthy); Scorpions 1 (Kerrie Doyle).Men’s 30s final:South Queensland Sharks 11 def Sunshine Coast Pineapples 8.Seven touchdowns in the second half gave the Sharks their first men’s 30s title in 12 years.It was an all-Queensland final with South Queensland taking on last year’s runners-up Sunshine Coast Pineapples.Both teams were levelled at 4-all at half-time but it was the Sharks who prevailed in the second 20-minute half.The match was close until the Sharks scored two late touchdowns to run out 11-8 winners.Remus Gentles scored four touchdowns in the decider.It was the Sharks first title in this division since 2002 and fifth overall.Touchdowns: Sharks 11 (Remus Gentles 4, Troy Skinner 2, Robert Brehaut 2, Troy Nichols 2, Stefan TeAmo); Pineapples 8 (Tom Eyles 3, Troy Clerk 2, Troy Morgan, Chris Farrow, Andrew Bell).Women’s 35s final:Hunter Western Hornets 6 def South West Queensland Swans 2.Hunter Western Hornets won their maiden women’s 35s title when they defeated the Swans 6-2.A first half performance, which gave Hornets a 4-1 lead at half-time lead set the match up for the NSW regional affiliate.Although they managed to score two touchdowns in the second half, they were able to shut out any Swans’ attack.It was the first time the Hornets have played in the women’s 35s final. Their previous best result was third in 2008.Touchdowns: Hornets 6 (Megan Hatch, Amber Stephens, Rebecca Austin, Wendy Maisem, Rochelle Stevens, Kellie-Jean Johnston); Swans 2 (Robyn Crovden, Jeannine Gvemore).Men’s 45s final:Sydney Scorpions 12 def Hunter Western Hornets 2. It was one-way traffic in the men’s 45s final with the Scorpions proving too strong for the Hornets.Scorpions, the two-time defending champions, were never troubled by Hunter Western.They took a 6-2 lead into the sheds at half-time and scored another six touchdowns to nil in the second 20 minutes.Three of the Scorpions players scored a double.It is the Scorpions’ third title after winning in 2012 and 2013.Touchdowns: Scorpions 12 (Peter Wandl 2, Jeff Cheung 2, Paul Saldren 2, Gregory Friend, David Cheung, Brett Gillard, Tim Kitchingham, Scott Collins, Graham West); Hornets 2 (Brenden Lantry, Darren Burcher).Men’s 55s final:Sydney Scorpions 5 def North Queensland Tropical Cyclones 3.Three touchdowns in the first half put Sydney Scorpions on the path to glory in the men’s 55s division.The Scorpions defeated the Tropical Cyclones 5-3 in the decider this morning.Phillip Young and Stephen New each scored twice for the Scorpions.The North Queensland outfit tried their hardest but they could not peg back the two-touchdown half-time deficit.Touchdowns: Scorpions 5 (Phillip Young 2, Stephen New 2, Barry Draws); Tropical Cyclones 3 (Ian Kerr 2, Bruce Johnson).Senior Mixed final:South Queensland Sharks 4 def Sydney Scorpions 3.A touchdown by Sharks’ Craig Slavin in a four-on-four drop-off sealed the premiership win for the South Queensland side. The match went back and forth with the teams unable to be separated at half-time (2-2) and again at full-time (3-3).A drop-off was needed – the first final to go to that length today – and both sides had opportunities to score the winning touchdown.But when it was four-on-four, Sharks’ Slavin scored his second but most important touchdown of the game when he crossed the scoreline in the north-west corner.Touchdowns: Sharks 4 (Craig Slavin 2, Scott Mitchell, Ryan Pollock); Scorpions 3 (Katrina McIlwraith, Gavin Bruce, Matthew Lawson).You can keep up-to-date with all of the latest news and information from the 2014 X-Blades National Touch League in the following MediaFacebook – – (be sure to use the hashtag #NTL2014)Instagram – – LinksNTL finals daylast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *